2017 Board

The Annual General Meeting was held in Hobart the day after the conclusion of the Eire Cup on Monday 27 March. Two Directors Robyn Wallace and Tricia Vierra did not stand for re-election. Delegates voted and the Directors for 2017 are –

Megan Fardon Chair
Mike Cohn, Deputy Chair
Don Close, Treasurer
Jim Nicholls
Tony McArthur
Murray Tinker
Graeme Thomas

2017 Board

Left to Right Graeme Thomas, Murray Tinker, Megan Fardon, Mike Cohn, Don Close, Tony McArthur [Jim Nicholls was absent]

Governance Structure

The Australian Croquet Association (ACA) has been incorporated in the ACT since 10 February, 1992. Prior to the Annual General Meeting held on Monday 23 March, 2015, the Association had a Council consisting of twelve delegates, two from each State Association and an Executive charged with its day to day operation. The State Associations are –

Croquet New South Wales Incorporated (includes the ACT)
Croquet Association Queensland Incorporated
South Australian Croquet Association Incorporated
Tasmanian Croquet Association Incorporated
The Victorian Croquet Association Incorporated
The West Australian Croquet Association Incorporated

At that AGM, Council unanimously adopted the new Constitution. It is a requirement that any change to an Association’s Model Rules be lodged with the ACT Office of Regulatory Services. Approval was received and from Thursday 9 April, 2015, the Australian Croquet Association moved from an Executive and Council to a Board Structure.

To assist with the transition the new Constitution outlined the makeup of the Board for its first year – three of the First Directors were to come from the Executive (President, Senior Vice President and Vice-President) and the remaining six to be selected by their State Association.

Members of the first Board -

Robyn Wallace, NSW - Chair
Jim Clement, VIC
Bob Godfrey, TAS
David Taylor, SA
Megan Fardon, WA
Don Close, QLD
Jim Saunders - came across from the Executive as elected Senior Vice President
Tricia Vierra - came across from the Executive as elected Vice President

The President resigned from the Board not wanting to take up a First Director position to pursue his love of croquet by playing the game rather than the being part of its management. Under the Constitution the Board may operate with between seven and nine members.

Members of the ACA are the six State Associations and each appoint a delegate to attend Special General Meetings and Annual General Meetings. Members of the Board are in attendance at these meetings but do not have a vote.

Why was a new Constitution required?

The ACA is the national peak body of Croquet in Australia and in order to be eligible to seek funding a number of improvements need to occur to ensure that the association is working under a best practice governance model.

In line with its Strategic Plan, the Constitutional Review Working Group (CRWG) consisting of a representative from each State was established and tasked with writing a document that was based on the Australian Sports Commission’s –
Constitution Template
Mandatory Sports and Governance Principles
Governance Principles The group initially thought the new constitution would allow ACA to become a company limited by guarantee and as part of the background research, Hockey Australia’s constitution was examined but it was soon realised taking ACA away from an incorporated association was a step too far in the first instance. Constitutions belonging to similar sized sports were also examined such as Pétanque Federation of Australia and Australian Canoeing Inc.

The CRWG after intensive discussion, consultation and much hard work completed their remit within three months – a huge achievement. Many thanks to Steve Thornton (NSW) Chair, Jim Saunders (VIC), Heather White (SA), Brad Maguire (WA), Tricia Vierra (TAS) and Murray Tinker (QLD).