

Croquet Australia's 72nd Annual General Meeting Monday, 29th March 2021 at 17:00 AEDT via Zoom and live streamed via Croquet Australia YouTube Channel

Minutes

1. Attendance:

- 1.1. Voting Delegates: Cynthia Tacey (CAQ), Simon Cook (CNSW), Stephen Forster (Croquet Victoria), Peter Tracey (CTas), Lynne Parnell (Croquet SA), Caryll Marshall (Croquetwest)
- 1.2. **Board Members:** Megan Fardon (Chair), Jim Nicholls (Deputy Chair), Don Close (Treasurer), Jacky McDonald, Mary Marsland and Max Kewish.
- 1.3. Nominees: Bernie Pfitzner, Barbara Northcott, Kerri-Ann Organ,
- 1.4. Other Attendees: Jim Clement (Secretary), Rob Murray (Executive Officer)
- **2. Roll Call of Attendees:** The Secretary conducted a roll call of attendees, as shown above.
- **3. Opening:** The Chair opened the meeting at 17:07 AEDT, welcoming all attendees.
- **4.** Adoption of Minutes of the Previous AGM: Resolved to accept the minutes of the previous AGM held at Brisbane, 23rd March 2020, as a true and accurate record.

5. Ordinary Business:

- **5.1. Acceptance of Annual Financial Statement:** The Treasurer spoke to the report, stating that the deficit of \$11,000 was a result of a 50% rebate on affiliation fees, plus expenditure on the new Coaching system and the Academy. Resolved to accept the Annual Financial Statement.
 - **5.1.1.** Business Arising from the Annual Financial Statement: Peter Tracey queried the timing of affiliation fees for individual members who should pay on joining, rather than on a one-off annual basis. The Treasurer replied that Croquet Australia does not have the resources to ascertain when a new member joins, so would have to rely on the states to collect and remit.
- **5.2. Acceptance of Annual Report:** The Chair thanked the Executive Officer for gathering the reports from all contributors and publishing the report. Resolved to accept the Annual Report.
- 5.3. **Election of Directors:** In accordance with the Constitution, four Directors, being Megan Fardon, Jim Nicholls, Don Close and Jacky McDonald stood down, with Megan Fardon and Don Close being unable to stand again, having completed the permissible maximum continuous term of six years. There was a fifth vacancy, caused by Geoff Crook's resignation from the Board, accepted at the 22nd March 2021 Board meeting.

Nominations had been received within the required timeframe from Jaqueline (Jacky) McDonald, Jim Nicholls, Barbara Northcott, Kerri-Ann Organ, Beraniece (Bernie) Pfitzner and Alison Sharpe.

The election of Directors was carried out in accordance with the Election Policy, amended as necessary for a meeting held via technology. Advantage was taken of the Zoom meeting platform facility to conduct anonymous polls. The following were elected:

- Jim Nicholls
- Barbara Northcott
- Kerri-Ann Organ
- Bernie Pfitzner
- Alison Sharpe for a one year term

The Board for 2021-22 comprises Max Kewish, Mary Marsland, Jim Nicholls, Barbara Northcott, Kerri-Ann Organ, Bernie Pfitzner and Alison Sharpe.

6. Special Business

6.1. Notice of Motion submitted by CNSW: Resolved to accept the following Notice of Motion submitted by CNSW:

"That ACA supports the health and safety of its players and develops a policy in relation to Pesticide and hazardous chemical use by Croquet Clubs around Australia."

- 7. Next Annual General Meeting: March 2022, exact date to be advised.
- **8.** The Secretary announced that he had plaques which commemorated Megan's and Don's six year service to Croquet Australia.
- 9. Close: The Chair closed the meeting at 17:53 AEDT