

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, 23rd March 2020 Held at Sports House, 150 Caxton St, Milton Qld 4064

Minutes

1. Attendance:

- **1.1 State Delegates:** CAQ Cynthia Tacey; Croquet Victoria Jim Clement; Croquet SA Lyn Parnell; Croquetwest Sheila Twine
- **1.2 Directors:** Megan Fardon (Chair), Jim Nicholls (Deputy Chair), Don Close (Treasurer), Jacky McDonald and Mary Marsland (members)
- **1.3 Officers:** Jim Clement (Secretary),
- **1.4 Observors:** Lynda Davis (Qld), Caryll Marshall (Secretary, Croquetwest), Max Kewish (WA)
- **1.5 Apologies:** Croquet Tasmania Sue Beattie; Mike Cohn (Director); Rob Murray (Executive Officer), Geoff Crook (SA)
- 2. Opening: The Chair opened the meeting at 9:23 a.m. AEST wwelcoming all in attendance.
- 3. Adoption of Minutes of the Previous AGM, held 25th March 2020: <u>Resolved that the</u> minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record.
 - 3.1 Business Arising from the Minutes: Nil.

4. Ordinary Business:

- **4.1** Annual Financial Report, including Auditor's Report: <u>Resolved that the</u> audited Financial Report for the year ending 31st December 2019 be accepted.
 - 4.1.1 Business Arising from the Financial Report: Nil.
- 4.2 Annual Report on Activities: Resolved that the report be accepted.
- 4.2.1 Business Arising from the Annual Report: Nil
- **4.3 Election of Directors:** The meeting accepted the offer of Marie Lonergan, Sports House Administration Officer, to act as the Returning Officer for these elections, to be conducted in accordance with the Croquet Australia Election Policy.

Nominations were received from: Mary Marsland (SA), Geoff Crook (SA), and Max Kewish (WA).

All three nominees were elected to the Board

5. Special Business:

5.1 Notices of Motion

5.1.1 Notices of Motion proposed by the Board

5.1.1.1 Motion 1

Motion: That the current Clause 20.2 of the Constitution:

20.2 Board Composition

"The Board shall comprise of seven (7) Elected Directors and if the Board so choose, two (2) Appointed Directors."

Be amended to read:

"20.2 (a) The Board shall comprise of seven (7) Elected Directors and if the Board so chooses, two (2) Appointed Directors

20.2 (b) Three (3) Elected Directors shall be elected in even years and four (4) in odd years. In the event that there are more than the prescribed number of vacancies at any AGM, the Policy referred to in Clause 21.2 (d) and (f) shall clearly define which Directors will serve for two (2) years and which for one (1) year."

5.1.1.2 Motion 2

Motion: that the existing clause 20.3 (a) (i) of the Constitution be renumbered to read "20.3 (a)"

5.1.1.3 Motion 3

Motion: that the current Clause 20.3 (b):

"The Director elected to be Chairperson under **clause 20.3 (a) (i)** will remain Chairperson for the duration of their term of office as Director and will chair any meeting of Directors unless a resolution electing a person as the Chairperson specifies a fixed term for the appointment."

Be amended to read:

"The Director elected to be Chairperson under **clause 20.3 (a)** will remain Chairperson for the duration of their current term of office as Director, unless the resolution electing them as the Chairperson specified a lesser term for the appointment, and will chair any meeting of Directors."

5.1.1.4 Motion 4

Motion: that current Clause 20.3 (d) be renumbered as 20.3.(d) (i) and new clause 20.3 (d) (ii) and 20.3(d) (iii) be added as follows:

"20.3.(d) (ii) The Director elected to be Deputy Chair under **clause 20.3 (d)** will remain Deputy Chair for the duration of their current term of office as Director, unless the resolution electing them as the Deputy Chair specified a lesser term for the appointment."

"20.3 (d) (iii) The position of Deputy Chair is normally to be viewed as succession planning for the position of Chairperson"

5.1.1.5 Motion 5

Motion: that the definition of a First Director be deleted from Clause 4.1 Definitions

5.1.1.6 Motion 6

Motion: That in Clause 4.1 Definitions, the current definition of a Special Resolution currently:

"Special Resolution" means a resolution passed:

(a) at a General meeting of which twenty one days' notice accompanied by notice of intention to propose resolution as a special resolution......"

be amended to read:

"Special Resolution" means a resolution passed:

(a) at a General meeting of which at least twenty one days' notice accompanied by notice of intention to propose resolution as a special resolution....."

Resolved that the six above motions be adopted.

5.1.2 Notice of Motion Proposed by Croquet Victoria

Motion: That commencing in 2020, Croquet Australia allocate at least \$15,000 from its annual budget to support the engagement of professional publicity services, aimed at invigorating the image of croquet.

Resolved that the motion be adopted.

5.1.3 Notice of Motion Proposed by Croquet SA

Motion: That Croquet Australia Selection Policy 2012, clause 3.3 has the addition of 4.3.5 Under Section 4 Mandatory Requirements: Have represented their State in the code of representation for selection (AC, GC, Gateball, other) or participated in at least one Australian National event in that code in the previous 12 months. Resolved that the motion be adopted.

- 6. Next Meeting: Monday, 22nd March 2021, venue and time to be advised.
- 7. Closure: The chair closed the meeting at 10:05 AEDT

Accepted as a true and accurate record

Megan Fardon Chair, Australian Croquet Association Inc 29 March 2021