

Croquet Australia's 74th Annual General Meeting Monday, 20th March 2023 Victorian Croquet Centre, 65 Nobel Banks Drive, Cairnlea 3023 MINUTES

1. Attendance:

- 1.1. Roll Call of Delegates: Sarah Widin (CAQ VP), Kate McLoughlin (CNSW Chair), Kate Patrick (VCA President), Sue Beattie (CTas Delegate), Graeme Thomas (Croquet SA President), Alan Sands (Croquetwest Delegate).
- 1.2. Directors: Jim Nicholls (Chair), Max Kewish (Deputy Chair), Barbara Northcott, Pat Habner
- 1.3. **Officers:** Jim Clement (Secretary), Melanie Woosnam (CEO), Rob Murray, (AO) & Greg Bury (Academy GM).
- 1.4. Apologies: Kah Yang Loke (Treasurer), Kerri-Ann Organ.
- 1.5. **Observers:** Ros Crowe, Megan Fardon, Ray Chapman, Claire Keating, Martin Clarke, Gary Phipps, Diane Leahy.
- 2. **Opening:** The Chair opened the meeting at 09:36 AEDT welcoming all present. He introduced Melanie Woosnam as the CEO and said that her employment was the single most significant change to ACA.

3. Adoption of Minutes:

- 3.1. **of Previous AGM, 19 March 2022:** Resolved to accept the minutes of the AGM held 19th March 2022 as a true and accurate record.
- 3.2. **of SGM**, **7**th **December 2023:** Resolved to accept the minutes of the SGM held **7**th December 2022 as a true and accurate record.

4. Ordinary Business

- 4.1. **Acceptance of Annual Financial Report:** The Chair spoke to the Financial Report, explaining the effect of Covid and events on the finances, noting that the MacRobertson Shield is a once in sixteen year occurrence. The Chair and CEO spoke in answer to queries regarding the forthcoming budget, possible sources of funding, and investments. Resolved to accept the Financial Report.
- 4.2. **Presentation of Annual Report on Activities:** VCA & CNSW both noted that their membership numbers appeared to be insured members rather than affiliated members states are to advise the AO of any changes to these numbers and the table will be corrected and re-issued. Board to review Events Committee ToR.
- 4.3. **Election of Directors:** Conducted under the terms of the ACA Election Policy, the Board having previously appointed Jim Clement as the Returning Officer in accordance with that policy.

Jim Nicholls, Barbara Northcott and Kerri-Ann Organ stood down at the completion of their current term. With the two existing vacancies, this has left five Board positions to be filled. Jim Nicholls, Barbara Northcott and Nick Chapman have nominated within the required time.

Jim Nicholls, Barbara Northcott and Nick Chapman were elected.

There still being two vacancies, nominations were sought from the floor; Kate Patrick nominated Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt, stating that Sarina had signified her acceptance of nomination, and Claire Keating nominated herself.

Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt and Claire Keating were elected.

5. Special Business

5.1. Notice of Motion:

that the Australian Croquet Association Inc Constitution, s 21.6(a) be amended to read:

"A Director may not serve more than four (4) consecutive terms as a Director, including where any of the terms is as an Appointed Director."

Resolved that the proposed Constitutional amendment be approved.

6. **Next AGM:** To be advised.

The Chair thanked Jim Clement, the resigning Secretary, for his services to croquet at national and state level and made a presentation.

7. **Close:** The Chair closed the meeting at 10:51 AEDT