

# Croquet Australia Minutes of Annual General Meeting 30 April 2024

Via Microsoft Teams

Meeting Opened: 7:18PM

**Item 1:** Chair Jim Nicholls welcomed everyone and acknowledged the traditional custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community.

#### Item 2: Role Call

Chair	Jim Nicholls	Vice Chair	Max Kewish
Treasurer	Claire Keating	Director	Barbara Northcott
Director	Pat Habner	Director	Nick Chapman
Director	Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt		
Tasmania	Sylvia Wing	Queensland	Sarah Widin
NSW/ACT	Kate McLoughlin	Western Australia	Terry Brown (7:29pm)
South Australia	Graeme Thomas	Victoria	Kate Patrick
Returning Officer	Jim Clement	Guest	John Turner
Observer	Ray Chapman	Observer	Peter Freer
		·	
CEO	Kristie Middleton	Operations	Kellie Thomas

#### Apologies:

**Graham Keating** 

#### Item 3: Opening Message from Chair

Jim Nicholls gave an overview of 2023 noting that it was a year of change post COVID-19 including the appointment of a CEO to drive change. Thanks were noted for Kristie Middleton, Claire Keating, Kerri-Ann Organ and Kellie Thomas for their professionalism across many sectors of the organisation. Special thanks went to all the volunteers across Australia for their hard work.

# Item 4: Confirmation of Previous Annual General Meeting minutes.

Kate Patrick (Vic) moved that the 2023 Annual General Meeting minutes are true and correct.

The Delegates RESOLVED to accept the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 20 March 2023.

# Item 5: Consideration of financial statements of the Association for the Financial Year ending 30 December 2023.

Treasurer Claire Keating tabled the financial report.

Kate McLoughlin (NSW) sought more information on the future financial position, which is Croquet Australia is looking at alternative revenue streams to reduce the budgeted deficit.

Moved Kate McLoughlin that the 2023 Financials be accepted.

The Delegates RESOLVED to accept the 2023 Financial Report.

# Item 6: Annual Report

The Delegates Noted the Annual Report with the addition of Kate Patrick's name to the Victorian report.

#### Item 7: Election of Directors

Conducted under the terms of the Croquet Australia Election Policy, the Board having previously appointed Jim Clement as the Returning Officer in accordance with that policy.

Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt's term has ended and is not seeking re-election.

Max Kewish, Claire Keating and Patricia Habner concluded their current term and are seeking reelection.

### Max Kewish, Claire Keating and Patricia Habner were elected.

There still being one vacancy, nominations were sought from the floor.

Graham Keating was nominated by Sylvia Wing (Tas). Graham had accepted the nomination prior to the meeting.

John Turner was nominated by Kate Patrick (Vic) and accepted the nomination.

# Graham Keating was elected.

## Item 8: Special Business – Company Limited by Guarantee

Due to numerous questions surrounding the document, the Chair will call a Special General Meeting to be held following 60 days notice.

Kate Patrick (Vic) requested that States attend briefings to discuss the documents.

# Item 9: Other Business

None.

Meeting closed 8:34PM.